Congratulations to the 2017 awardees!  Dr. Sharon Delesbore of Texas receives the Outstanding Administrative Support Award and Ms. Sara Torres receives the Outstanding Leadership in Science Education Award.  The OASA Award will be presented at the NSELA Leadership Summit and the OLISE Award at the membership breakfast, both in Los Angeles.

Outstanding Administrative Support Award 2017 Recipient Highlights:

The NSELA OASA 2017 awardee, Dr. Sharon Delesbore, is an Assistant Principal at the Ferndell Henry Center for Learning in the Fort Bend Independent School District of Sugar Land, Texas. At this alternative placement campus for middle and high school students, she is an avid and passionate science advocate for students. She provides amazing leadership to make an impact on the lives of underrepresented students. Her administrative work includes being a member of AISD Science Instructional Leadership Team. Previous leadership experiences include Principal, Christa McAuliffe Middle School and Science Instructional Specialist at Elsik High School.

In addition to being an administrator, Dr. Delesbore does some work as a curriculum consultant and instructional and leadership coach at the national and international levels. This includes STEM literacy and implementation of the Next Generation Science Standards with a focus on diverse populations.

Dr. Delesbore is actively engaged with science education organizations that include NSTA, NSELA, AMSE (Association for Multicultural Science Education), and Texas science education organizations. She is currently the President of AMSE. As President of AMSE, she is an NSTA Council member. She continues to present at NSTA conferences on diversity issues in science education. In 2015 she received the Texas Science Education Leadership Association (an affiliate of NSELA) Outstanding Leadership in Science Education Award.

The NSELA/Kendall Hunt OASA award will be presented during the NSELA Leadership Summit on March 29 in Los Angeles. Dr. Delesbore will receive $1000.00 check and a plaque from Kendall Hunt.

Outstanding Leadership in Science Education Award 2017 Recipient Highlights:

The NSELA OLISE 2017 awardee, Ms. Sara Torres, is an incredible leader in several arenas. She is the Executive Director Consultant for the Arizona Science Teachers Association (ASTA) with the following roles: conference coordinator; communications officer; curriculum liaison to professional boards, associations, and organizations; annual program reporting; and ASTA webmaster. In this role she is considered the face of science education in Arizona. Another leadership position is Master Science Teacher Leader, Teacher Leadership Program Systemic Induction Program. She works to provide support systems to novice teachers and provide leadership skills to veteran teachers in Arizona. To facilitate this work she has written grants to develop leaders for professional development throughout Arizona.

She also works as a member of the STEM Education Instructional Team for the Science Foundation Arizona. Sara’s work significantly changed instructional practices of two school districts by providing STEM content and pedagogical instruction to over 100 teachers. In addition she is a consultant in Missouri and New Hampshire. One previous leadership position was K-12 Curriculum Coordinator for Science & Secondary Health for Columbia Public Schools in Missouri.

Ms. Torres has done many presentations at NSTA conferences, other national conferences/meetings, and state conferences. She served as an NSTA program committee member for a regional conference. She has been awarded several grants focused on teacher resources and teacher development at the local to state-wide level. Through her insight and leadership, ASTA became the first organization in the country to establish the AZ STEM Collaborative with Arizona partner professional organizations in math and technology education.

The NSELA/Pearson OLISE award will be presented during the Pearson sponsored Thursday NSELA breakfast during the NSTA Conference in Los Angeles. Ms. Torres will receive a $1000.00 check and a plaque from Pearson.