NSELA and Vernier Software and Technology are celebrating their third year sponsoring the Vernier Emerging Science Education Leader Scholarship (VESELS). This ongoing partnership supports six $500.00 scholarships for emerging leaders, one from each of the six NSELA Regions, to attend the annual NSELA Summer Leadership Institute (SLI) from June 24 – June 26, 2019 in Orlando, Florida. The Emerging Science Education Leader Scholarship was founded with support from Dr. Jo Anne Vasquez who started the scholarship fund in 2014. 

Award Criteria and Application Process:
The following criteria must be met to apply for the scholarship. Does not need to be a member of NSELA prior to the application. When a candidate applies, must become a member of NSELA.
  • Emerging leader role at the school, district, state or informal level for three years or less. The three-year limit is specific to the leadership role and work for which the candidate is being nominated. Previous leadership roles that are very different are not counted in the three years.
  • Submission of an application packet that includes: resume or vita, personal letter with evidence that illustrates emerging leadership, and a support letter from a supervisor.
  • Agree to work with an NSELA mentor through June 2020. During the SLI, all scholarship awardees will have meetings with the mentor and share how they will apply SLI learning to their work settings. After six months, awardees will reflect on how they are applying their SLI experience in the Navigator newsletter and online with other scholarship awardees and the mentor.

2019 Application Period Begins: April 1, 2019
2019 Application Deadline Extended: April 24, 2019
We are only accepting applications for Region A, B, and C

Click Here For Region Descriptions

If you have questions or would like to contribute to the scholarship fund, contact Nancy Kellogg, Awards Chair.

Application Process

For the Summer Leadership Institute, applicants submit the following: 

  1. Resume or Vita (maximum of 2 pages) that includes name, position/title, email, work and home phone numbers, work and home addresses, educational record of earned degrees with dates and field of study plus any additional formal education, professional development opportunities, previous work experience, any professional memberships and positions in or contributions to those organizations, and presentations related to science education. Optional: special awards or other forms of professional recognition and publications related to science education.

  2. Personal letter with evidence that demonstrates accomplishments with specific examples that illustrate emerging leadership and how the Summer Leadership Institute would benefit your work (maximum of 2 pages). Include a statement that you agree to work with an NSELA mentor, other scholarship recipients online and write a reflection article for the NSELA Navigator through June 2020. Give one example of what you might contribute to the online learning community.

  3. Support letter from a supervisor that gives evidence of leadership accomplishments with specific examples and why attendance at the Summer Leadership Institute would benefit your work as a science leader (maximum of 2 pages). The supervisor should include his/her work title and contact information.

The application packet must be submitted as PDF documents to Nancy Kellogg, NSELA Awards Chair. Email the application packet to [email protected]

Scholarship awardee(s) will be announced by May 14, 2019Scholarship money will be reimbursed to the awardee(s) at the end of the Summer Leadership Institute.

Emerging Science Education Leader Scholarship Awardees


Candace Penrod - Salt Lake City School District
Charlie Seo - Village Christian School
Christine Benita - Seattle Public Schools
Karen Covil - Lincoln Public Schools
Mark Case - Southern Guilford High


Jennifer Gibson, Texas
Brianna Greco, Nebraska
Amy Hochschild, Ohio
Alyssa Mocharnuk, Massachusetts
Katrina Reno, Mississippi
Dylann Pinkman, Nebraska


Sarah Adumat, Wisconsin
Alfonso Garcia, Oregon
Joe Simmons, Florida
Heather Moll, Arizona
Anissa Angier, Oklahoma
Amy K. Murphy, Ph.D., Alabama


Brennan Brockbank, California
Sephali Thakkar, Connecticut


Holly Steele, California


Bruce Jones, Arizona
Tracey Staley, Florida